How I contributed to the free movement 10 days in a row & how you can do it too

I wrote this article keeping in mind that it should be readable by non technical users. So don’t worry you can understand everything. You can also ask questions in the comments.

Free (libre) software, data, culture, art… Free as in freedom.

This article won’t explain what free software/data/culture/art is, so here is the wikipedia article about that : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_software_movement

And here it is! I just made a contribution to free software! How? By talking about it and making you use Wikipedia which is free itself.

That’s what this article is about, I wanted to try something just to see if it could fit effortlessly in my life or if it would be hard, I wanted to contribute to free software everyday (sometimes it mights also be free data or culture). I decided to make it a 30 day project like a lot of people do for other projects. Also, the only contribution I won’t count is using free software since I already do that on a daily basis.

And by the way : I didn’t write a single line of code while contributing. I also didn’t give any money to projects. So anyone can do it. But of course if you’re able and willing to do one of those two things you should!

street-complete-screenshotDay 1
  • I improved cartography. I made a few OpenStreetMap contributions through the Android app StreetComplete, which I downloaded through F-Droid. With StreetComplete you just have to walk on your streets and you see quests on the map. Quests are questions you can answer easily like what is the speed limit, the ground type, the number of a house, the name of a shop. It usually doesn’t take more that 5 seconds to complete a quest and yet you improved the map a lot.
  • I shared knowledge. I explained to a GNU/Linux beginner how to install and update softwares on an Ubuntu based distribution.
Day 2
  • I improved cartography again. Same as yesterday, I did a few more quests in StreetComplete.
  • I helped someone. I explained how to set up a Steam library folder on a secondary drive in GNU/Linux to someone.
  • I made two people switch to GNU/Linux. Well, at least I learnt that today, they decided to try it based on earlier conversations. I’m pretty proud of that one!
Day 3
  • I contributed to wikipedia. For the first time ever. And I liked it. Create an account, you don’t even need an email adress. Then check what’s needed. I introduced a list of features for a software, linked some of them to other wikipedia articles, and added my source. It took me less than 10 minutes.
Day 4
  • I listened to sentences. My contribution today was to the project Mozilla Common Voices, a CC0 voice database for vocal recognition. I just listened to a few sentences and said if they were pronunced right or wrong. It only takes like 30 seconds to check a batch of 5. I strongly recommend to check this one out if you want to see vocal features on free software one day.
Day 5
  • I listened to more sentences. Not very original today, I did exactly the same as yesterday. But there is a good reason : it’s really quick to do (you can even do it on your phone) and I had no time (and I alsmost forgot so I did it in bed). Still, even with like 3-4 minutes in hand I feel like I made a nice contribution.
Day 6
  • I had a day off. I was not at home. No computer. No phone. No one to talk to about free software. That’s okay. Life is many more things.
Day 7
  • I linked Wikipedia articles to an “orphan article”. It allows the article to be discovered when people read about something related to it.
  • I added informations and sources to an article. So now it’s more complete. (On Wikipedia also)
Day 8
  • I promoted free software for productivity. Talked about the various benefits in productivity / professional workflows with GNU/Linux and free software with someone.
  • I uploaded free content. I uploaded a LBRY exlusive video under a free licence.
Day 9
  • I tried a new tool. I used Clonezilla to make an ISO backup of one of my GNU/Linux installs. (And it’s good)
  • I tried a new distribution. Ubuntu Studio. I think it’s nice for creatives who are beginer or intermediate on GNU/Linux. Especially for working with audio since everything is already set up.
Day 10
  • I tried another distribution. Lubuntu Alternate. I already knew Lubuntu. Alertenate version has a weird install process. Could be better in my opinion.
  • I had a conversation about GNU/Linux Phones. And why they’re a nice option. (UBPorts, PinePhone, Librem 5).
And today
  • I published this article to support free software and encourage you to do the same.

 

Credits :

Cover photo by Soumil Kumar.

GNU_and_Tux.svg: Tux.svg: Larry Ewing, Simon Budig, Anja GerwinskiHeckert_GNU_white.svg: Aurelio A. Heckert <aurium@gmail.com>Gnulinux.png: Aurelio A. Heckert <aurium@gmail.com>, lewing@isc.tamu.edu (using The GIMP), Dudufderivative work: Wondigoma / FAL

Leave a comment